No star party

20 01 2010

Since last September, Sussex University has been holding star parties for local schools on the roof of the Physics and Astronomy building. Last night, I was meant to be taking some of my students but, as is often the case with star gazing, you are totally dependent on good weather. Although there was a brief clear spell during the afternoon, it was clouding over by 6pm and the moon was just visible through the gloom.  Ah well, there will be plenty of clear skies to come.

I’ve been interested in Astronomy for as long as I can remember but only splashed out on a telescope a few years ago –  a 6inch Newtonian reflector to be precise! Although Brighton skies are not really that good for seeing the faintest objects,  the planets, including Jupiter and Saturn are really easy to see.

Tonight the weather was wetter and colder that last night but I hardly noticed after a few minutes. The interval training was quite tough – I haven’t done that for some time now so it took a bit longer to recover.  Now feeling very tired – must start going to bed earlier….and eat more.

Today’s target: Intervals


Actions

Information

Leave a comment