Two weeks

2 04 2012

This is about mile 19.

‘Tapering off’   has now started which is kind of a relief  after the 20 mile slog at Worthing 2 weeks ago. This week,  I’ve managed 20 miles over 7 days, including 11 miles this morning with @paulzara. To get into marathon mood, we ran the last 11 miles of the marathon course which takes you out to  Shoreham power station and back along the seafront to the finish on Madeira drive.  The organisers have modified the route this year so that you now have to do all of New Church Road and then double back on yourself. How cruel!  Despite this mental torture I did manage to get a dip in the sea after Paul wanted to test a theory that the sea water at Shoreham should be warmer because of the outflow pipe next to the power station.  Well, it was as cold as ever!  Although hardened runners rave about ice baths to help sore legs recover, I prefer the wimp’s version of standing in the sea for no longer than 30 seconds.  It definitely works, although I’m not entirely sure why. I’m going to try this on all of my seafront runs until 15th April .


Actions

Information

Leave a comment