Run-cake-run

17 01 2016

It’s not my usual habit to break up a training run to stop for tea and cake but Saturday was a day for changing plans. You’ve got to make the most of the weather when snow is forecast  so the long Sunday run was shifted a day earlier. The aim was to jog a gentle 6 miles to Rottingdean via Ovingdean – a new route for me but I’ve convinced myself that my most enjoyable time running is when I don’t really know where I’m going!

windmill rottingdean

Beacon Mill, Rottingdean

By the time I reached Rottingdean, passing by the Windmill that I normally only see from the bus, I still felt like running a bit further. A quick refuel at Molly’s cafe, down on  the undercliff walk (recommend the chocolate coated seedy flapjack!) and I was good to go back to Brighton via Balsdean and Castle Hill. In all, 23km with a 20 min tea break. Despite the lack of continuity, the run was tough in both directions owing to the gradient (12% on Bear Rd) and mud everywhere so I wont be too hard on myself. In fact I might even do it again! Training for Brighton half marathon feels like its going in the right direction – soon I’ll have to up my distances for the marathon itself in April. Yummy.

Legs a bit weary today but spirit lifted by a lovely walk-pub lunch-walk along the coast at West Itchenor. The Ship Inn is worth a visit – nice food.

Got home to see this funny  video posted about the Tring parkrun. Enjoy!

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

